Posted 4/10/2013
Similar to LordDeath's  "Romance Anime: For GUYS and GIRLS".
This is to both sides opinion on Harems.

Posted 4/10/2013
I'm tired of Harem anime. Every time I see a harem my opinion of it is almost shattered. Normally am not too cynical when it comes to anime but I've seen literally hundreds of these series! And I'm not joking when I say hundreds. Granted, I do typically look away when the harem factor is only in the background. Such as Total Eclipse etc.

Now I will make an exception for reverse harem. With hundreds to thousands of these suckers it's a breath of fresh air to see the girls getting a chance. Just not sure why the magic number is always 4. lol Guess it's a Saiyuki thing.

This pet peeve is up there with cookie cutter moe characters.

Beware of the moe!

Posted 4/10/2013
That is very true I guess I'm still new to the Otaku World(Why do I always call it that?)

Anyways I don't like most Harems for several reasons!
-Just an excuse for echii
-No plot!!!
-Love is undefined...
-THE MALE IS A HENTAI!
-The girls paw over him when he is jerk I mean come on try a little!
Well that about sums it up.

Posted 4/10/2013
This is not to say there are not any worth while harems out there of course!

Posted 4/10/2013
Soon as I see it's harem, I don't even bother...

Posted 4/10/2013
No no no you can't out right toss an Anime because of it's genre unless it's not your taste. But what about harems like ummm... Love Hina I heard that was decent! Though I never saw it before.

Posted 4/10/2013
Sadly, Love Hina and Tenchi are one of the few exceptions and also some of the series that defined the genre (mainly Tenchi). However, the industry has just become so obsessed with the series it's not even funny. I tend to think harem and ecchi type series are more marketed to an audience not as familiar with anime or are just getting into it.